About Our Teams

Executive Team

Leadership and management of the project

Cloud Native Services

Cloud services and underlying infrastructure

Core Software

Discovery Environment and Data Store development

Project Operations

Project management, communications, and user engagement

Science and Training

Science, support, and training

 

Executive Team

Eric Lyons
PI and Project Director, University of Arizona | ericlyons@email.arizona.edu

Eric LyonsDr. Eric Lyons is Associate Professor of Plant Biology at the University of Arizona. Prior to obtaining his PhD in plant biology at the University of California, Berkeley, he worked for six years as a computational biologist and programmer in several industry settings including pharmaceutical, biotechnology, and software companies. He has expertise in large project management and served as Program Director for NSF's Division of Integrated Organismal Systems from 2018-2019. His research is in bioinformatics and comparative genomics, and he is the founder of CoGe, a premier platform for comparative genomics, which now operates on the CyVerse CI under its Powered by CyVerse program.

Nirav Merchant
Co-PI and UArizona Cyberinfrastructure Lead, University of Arizona | nirav@email.arizona.edu

Nirav MerchantMr. Nirav Merchant is the director of the Data Science Institute at the University of Arizona, whose mission is to connect and align UArizona researchers with institutional expertise, computational resources and infrastructure to enable investigators to ask and solve more complex questions and achieve outcomes not easily attainable as solo researchers or within purely disciplinary teams. He oversees the comprehensive computational cyberinfrastructure for biomedical research, supporting diverse projects ranging from large-scale clinical NGS analytics platforms to mobile health (mHealth) interventions. With over 25 years of experience at the University of Arizona as a technology strategist and architect for multi-institutional projects involving scalable data analytics, Nirav directs CyVerse's CI strategy and also co-teaches an interdisciplinary course in Applied Cyberinfrastructure Concepts, designed with CyVerse, XSEDE, and FutureGrid infrastructure.

David Micklos
Co-PI and EOT Lead, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory | micklos@cshl.edu

Dave MicklosMr. David Micklos is founder and Executive Director of the DNA
Learning Center (DNALC) at CSHL. He is the CyVerse Education,
 Outreach, and Training (EOT) Faculty Advisor and collaborates with
 CyVerse senior management and outside advisors to develop EOT
 strategy and long-term plans. Mr. Micklos collaborates with NSF-, 
NIH-, and HHMI-supported programs to integrate CyVerse into 
education programs at the national level. He is PI of several major
 projects that use CyVerse cyberinfrastructure: an NSF Course,
 Curriculum, and Laboratory Improvement (CCLI) grant to introduce
 RNA-Seq analysis into undergraduate education, an NSF Advanced
 Technological Education (ATE) grant to train community college faculty in DNA sequence and barcode analysis, an NSF Research Collaboration Network (RCN) to stimulate course-based undergraduate research (CURE), an NIH Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA) for high school student barcode projects exploring the ecology of Long Island, and a Pinkerton Foundation grant to support research mentorships in DNA barcoding for underrepresented minorities in New York City high schools.

Tyson Swetnam
Co-PI and UArizona Science Lead, University of Arizona | tswetnam@email.arizona.edu

A headshot of Tyson Swetnam.Dr. Tyson Swetnam is Research Assistant Professor of Geoinformatics at the University of Arizona BIO5 Institute. His first career was as a wildland firefighter and fire management specialist for the U.S. National Park Service and USDA Forest Service. He earned his PhD from the University of Arizona in watershed management, with emphasis on natural resource management, dendrochronology, and Geographic Information Systems. Swetnam's research involves developing spatial data cyberinfrastructure for CyVerse and collaborating with a diverse group of projects in the life and earth sciences. Swetnam's areas of interest include image analysis, large-scale visualization, and data science literacy. He also develops curricula, teaches workshops, and is an active member of The Carpentries and Research Bazaar collaborations.

Matthew Vaughn
Co-PI and UT Cyberinfrastructure Lead, University of Texas at Austin | vaughn@tacc.utexas.edu

Matt VaughnDr. Matthew Vaughn is Director of Life Sciences Computing at TACC and is the CI Lead for CyVerse. He is a computational biologist with research interests in plant epigenetic regulation of gene expression and computational expertise in bioinformatics and high performance computing. He is co-designer of CyVerse’s TAPIS Science API platform and co-PI of the Arabidopsis Information Portal project, which leverages CyVerse resources for a new, modular database for the Arabidopsis community. Dr. Vaughn is on the Scientific Advisory Board for the University of Texas San Antonio Cancer Bioinformatics Initiative and has developed computational biomedicine engagement and support strategies for the University of Texas system.

Back to top

 

Cloud Native Services

Edwin Skidmore
Director, Infrastructure, University of Arizona | edwin@cyverse.org

Matt Bomhoff
Software Engineer, Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona | mbomhoff@cyverse.org

Illyoung Choi
Research and Development Engineer, University of Arizona | iychoi@email.arizona.edu

Sean Davey
Software Engineer, Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona | sdavey@email.arizona.edu

Andy Edmonds
Senior Systems Administrator, Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona | aedmonds@cyverse.org

Jeremy Frady
Systems Administrator, Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona | jeremyfrady@cyverse.org

Terry Cruz Melo
Undergraduate Student Software Engineer, Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona 

Ryan Schneider
Undergraduate Student Software Engineer, Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona 

Mariah Wall
User Interface and Application Developer, University of Arizona | mgwall@cyverse.org

Todd Wickizer
Software Engineer, Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona | twickizer@cyverse.org

Zhuoyun Xu
Research Engineering Technician, Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona | xuzy73@cyverse.org

Back to top

 

Core Software

Sriram Srinivasan
Software Engineer Lead, Core Software, University of Arizona | sriram@cyverse.org

Tony Edgin
Senior Software Engineer, Core Software, University of Arizona | tedgin@cyverse.org

Flynn Gaur
Student Engineer - Quality Assessment, Core Software, University of Arizona 

Ian McEwen
Software Engineer, Core Software, University of Arizona | mian@cyverse.org

Ashley Ramsey
Software Engineer, Core Software, University of Arizona | aramsey@cyverse.org

Sarah Roberts
Senior Software Engineer, Core Software, University of Arizona | sarahr@cyverse.org

Paul Sarando
Software Engineer, Core Software, University of Arizona | psarando@cyverse.org

John Wregglesworth
Software Engineer, Core Software, University of Arizona | wregglej@cyverse.org

Back to top

 

Project Operations

Mary Margaret Sprinkle
Assistant Director of Finance & Management, University of Arizona | marys@cyverse.org

Tina Lee
User Engagement Officer, University of Arizona | tinal@cyverse.org

Shelley Littin
Coordinator, Marketing & Communications, University of Arizona | littin@cyverse.org

Back to top

 

Science and Training

Anushka Bande
Undergraduate Student Software Engineer, University of Arizona

Amanda Cooksey
Science Informatician, University of Arizona | amcooksey@cyverse.org

Michael Culshaw-Maurer
Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Arizona | culshawmauer@arizona.edu

John Fonner
Research Associate, Life Sciences Computing, TACC, UT Austin | jfonner@tacc.utexas.edu

Sarah Jackson
Undergraduate Student Software Engineer, University of Arizona

Korre Henry
Undergraduate Student Software Engineer, University of Arizona

Jawon Song
Research Associate, Life Sciences Computing, TACC, UT Austin | jawon@tacc.utexas.edu

Reetu Tuteja
Science Informatician, University of Arizona | reetu@cyverse.org

Jason Williams
Training Lead, DNA Learning Center, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory | williams@cshl.edu

Back to top