Project Personnel

Executive Team

Parker Antin
PI and Project Director, University of Arizona | pba@email.arizona.edu

Dr. Parker Antin, is Project Director, PI, and Site Lead for CyVerse at the University of Arizona's BIO5 Institute. Antin is also a professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine from the UA College of Medicine and an Associate Dean in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, was brought on to the project in Spring 2015 to help reach non-plant communities. Antin is a national authority in the areas of developmental biology and genomics who has taught and conducted research at the University of Arizona since 1992. Antin’s work offers a better understanding of human health. Identifying how genes are used during embryo development in an animal like the chicken allows scientists to better understand how congenital disabilities occur in humans. As a member since 2009 of the Board of Directors and now President-Elect for the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB), Antin has worked extensively in Washington advocating for science funding. He has become well versed in the federal science budget appropriations process and in regulatory issues.

Eric Lyons
Co-PI and UA Science Lead, University of Arizona | ericlyons@email.arizona.edu

Dr. Eric Lyons is assistant professor of Plant Biology at the University of Arizona. Prior to obtaining his PhD in plant biology at the University of California, Berkeley, he worked for six years as a computational biologist and programmer in a number of industry settings including pharmaceutical, biotechnology, and software companies. He has expertise in large project management and currently serves as a science team lead for iPlant. His research is in bioinformatics and comparative genomics, and he is the founder of CoGe, a premier platform for comparative genomics, which now operates on the CyVerse CI.

Nirav Merchant
Co-PI and UA Cyberinfrastructure Lead, University of Arizona | nirav@email.arizona.edu

Mr. Nirav Merchant is the director for Bio Computing at the University of Arizona (UA), overseeing the comprehensive computational cyberinfrastructure for biomedical research, supporting diverse projects ranging from large scale clinical NGS analytics platforms to mobile health (mHealth) interventions. With over 20 years of experience at UA as technology strategist and architect for multi institutional projects involving scalable data analytics. Within iPlant he advises on CI strategy, leads the technology assessment effort, and oversees daily operations of iPlant’s Core Software and Core Services groups. Mr. Merchant also co-teaches an interdisciplinary course in Applied Cyberinfrastructure Concepts, designed with iPlant, XSEDE, and FutureGrid infrastructure.

David Micklos
Co-PI and EOT Lead, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory | micklos@cshl.edu

Mr. David Micklos is founder and Executive Director of the DNA
Learning Center (DNALC) at CSHL. He is the CyVerse Education,
Outreach, and Training (EOT) Faculty Advisor and collaborates with
CyVerse senior management and outside advisors to develop EOT
strategy and long-term plans. Mr. Micklos collaborates with NSF-,
NIH-, and HHMI-supported programs to integrate CyVerse into
education programs at the national level. He is PI of several major
projects that use CyVerse cyberinfrastructure: an NSF Course,
Curriculum, and Laboratory Improvement (CCLI) grant to introduce
RNA-Seq analysis into undergraduate education, an NSF Advanced
Technological Education (ATE) grant to train community college faculty in DNA sequence and barcode analysis, an NSF Research Collaboration Network (RCN) to stimulate course-based undergraduate research (CURE), an NIH Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA) for high school student barcode projects exploring the ecology of Long Island, and a Pinkerton Foundation grant to support research mentorships in DNA barcoding for underrepresented minorities in New York City high schools.

Matthew Vaughn
Co-PI and UT Cyberinfrastructure Lead, University of Texas at Austin | vaughn@tacc.utexas.edu

Dr. Matthew Vaughn is Director of Life Sciences Computing at TACC and is the CI lead for CyVerse. He is a computational biologist with biological interests in plant epigenetic regulation of gene expression and computational expertise in bioinformatics and high performance computing. He is co-designer of iPlant’s Agave Science API platform. He is co-PI of the Arabidopsis Information Portal project, which is leveraging iPlant resources to build a new, modular database for the Arabidopsis community. He is on the Scientific Advisory Board for the University of Texas San Antonio Cancer Bioinformatics Initiative and has developed computational biomedicine engagement and support strategies for the University of Texas system.

Staff

Adrian Boa
Student Engineer, Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona |

Tharon Carlson
Software Engineer, Core Services, University of Arizona | tharon@cyverse.org

Amanda Cooksey
Science Informatician, University of Arizona | amcooksey@cyverse.org

Sean Davey
Science Informatician, University of Arizona | sdavey@email.arizona.edu

Tony Edgin
Senior Sofware Engineer, Core Software, University of Arizona | tedgin@cyverse.org

Andy Edmonds
Senior Systems Administrator, Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona | aedmonds@cyverse.org

John Fonner
Research Associate, TACC, UT Austin | jfonner@tacc.utexas.edu

Jeremy Frady
Systems Administrator, Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona | jeremyfrady@cyverse.org

Flynn Gaur
Student Engineer, Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona |

Natalie Henriques
Project Manager, TACC, UT Austin | natalie@tacc.utexas.edu

Tina Lee
User Engagement Officer, University of Arizona | tinal@cyverse.org

Shelley Littin
Coordinator, Marketing & Communications, University of Arizona | littin@cyverse.org

Ian McEwen
Software Engineer, Core Software, University of Arizona | mian@cyverse.org

Calvin McLean
Software Engineer, Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona | calvinmclean@cyverse.org

Jack Mittelmeier
Student Engineer, Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona |

Jessmer John Palanca
Student Engineer, Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona |

Ashley Ramsey
Software Engineer, Core Software, University of Arizona | aramsey@cyverse.org

Sarah Roberts
Senior Software Engineer, Core Software, University of Arizona | sarahr@cyverse.org

Paul Sarando
Software Engineer, Core Software, University of Arizona | psarando@cyverse.org

William Simpson
Software Engineer, Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona | wsimpson@cyverse.org

Edwin Skidmore
Director, Infrastructure, University of Arizona | edwin@cyverse.org

Jawon Song
Research Associate, Life Sciences Computing, TACC, UT Austin | jawon@tacc.utexas.edu

Mary Margaret Sprinkle
Assistant Director Finance & Management, University of Arizona | marys@cyverse.org

Sriram Srinivasan
Software Engineer Lead, University of Arizona | sriram@cyverse.org

Tyson Swetnam
Science Informatician, University of Arizona | tswetnam@cyverse.org

Ariel Villasenor
Undergraduate Student (Skidmore), Cloud Native Services, University of Arizona |

Mariah Wall
User Interface and Application Developer, University of Arizona | mgwall@cyverse.org

Ramona Walls
Senior Science Informatician, University of Arizona | rwalls@cyverse.org

Jason Williams
Training Lead, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory | williams@cshl.edu

John Wregglesworth
Software Engineer, Core Software, University of Arizona | wregglej@cyverse.org

Ailene Yee
Software Engineer, Core Software, University of Arizona | yeea@email.arizona.edu