Webinar: Writing and Sharing Computational Analyses in Jupyter Notebooks

Friday, October 25

1 pm EDT | 12 noon CDT | 11 am MDT | 10 am PDT/AZ

Following on the heels of his team's recent PLoS publication Ten simple rules for writing and sharing computational analyses in Jupyter Notebooks, Peter Rose of the San Diego Supercomputer Center will give an overview of how to organize notebooks, set up a reproducible and reusable compute environment, and share and explain your research using CyVerse resources. Peter will address the unique opportunities and challenges that arise when using computational notebooks, especially Jupyter Notebooks as available in CyVerse, for reproducible science research.

Attendees should have used Jupyter Notebooks a few times previously to benefit from the webinar. This is an overview of good practices for using the Notebooks, rather than an introduction on how to use them.

Register Here

Peter RosePeter Rose is the Director of the Structural Bioinformatics Laboratory at the San Diego Supercomputer Center (SDSC). Since joining SDSC in 2007, his group has built the Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics (RCSB) Protein Data Bank to its current strength as a key resource in biology and drug discovery. He currently works on NIH-funded Big Data to Knowledge (BD2K) projects to enable large-scale mining of 3D macromolecular structures. Prior to joining UCSD, he held research and management positions at Pfizer La Jolla, formerly Agouron Pharmaceuticals, where he was instrumental in the establishment of the structure-based drug design platform. His research interests include structural bioinformatics, structure-based drug design, 3D visualization, and the application of big data technologies and machine learning in bioinformatics and biomedicine.