Webinar: Git for Mere Mortals

Friday, October 11

1 pm EDT | 12 noon CDT | 11 am MDT | 10 am PDT/AZ

As collaborations and distributed virtual teams are now the norm for much of the computational research world, the need for version control of your code files (a.k.a., software configuration management or SCM) is a practical reality, especially for mere mortals who forget to save, overwrite a file, or make copies only to forget where they stored them. In this webinar, Meghan Balk, a UA post-doctoral researcher at the BIO5 Institute, will demonstrate how to use Git, a free, open source, distributed version control system that should be in any computational researchers' basic toolkit for managing and sharing data, apps, and tools. Whether you're a budding data scientist or just need a refresher, this webinar will present best practices and helpful hints on using Git to ensure efficient handling of your teams' code and files so that you can create, merge, or delete code with confidence.Meghan Balk

View Webinar on YouTube

Meghan Balk is a postdoctoral research associate at the BIO5 Institute at the University of Arizona. She is working with Ramona Walls and the FuTRES (Functional Trait Resource for Environmental Studies) team to develop a way to search and aggregate specimen-level trait data. Her research interests include investigating how evolutionary changes in body size affect the ecology of species at the population, species, and community levels; she is particularly interested in understanding trends and drivers of morphological or compositional change.